Alameda County

Alameda County has 14 incorporated Cities: Alameda, Albany, Berkeley, Dublin, Emeryville, Fremont, Hayward, Livermore, Newark, Oakland, Piedmont, Pleasanton, San Leandro, and Union City.

Are you interested in cannabis permits in Alameda County?
Schedule a consultation with us to learn more!

Schedule a Phone Consultation

Local Control Explained

Cities and counties have the authority to decide whether to license cannabis businesses in their area. They have the option to:

  • License all cannabis businesses
  • License certain types and forbid others
  • Ban all cannabis businesses

Counties can determine which cannabis businesses they permit or ban, but this only applies to the unincorporated areas under their control. In contrast, incorporated cities within the county can create their own regulations concerning cannabis, regardless of their county's own rules.

Some localities will limit the number of permits they are willing to issue. This means even if the business type you want is allowed, the city or county may not be willing to issue anymore permits.